Because my granny told me

imagesMy granny is a staunch follower of Brahma Kumaris. Brahma Kumaris is a religious foundation in which they teach people how to medicate and also provide knowledge to their followers about god and various other truths and lies of the universe. And the biggest myth which they tell their followers is that the world is going to end soon and only the followers of Brahma Kumaris would be left. Since my granny is a follower of the Brahma Kumaris, she also believes in this myth.

Well! My grandmother is a good story teller. She used to recite poems about cat, dogs, lions, prince, princess, about relationships and love. But one thing which she has always told me about this world actually not told me she has frightened me. She used to tell me and even today she tells me that the world would end soon. She told me so when I was a 4 year old kid. Now she is my granny so I ignored all the stories told by her about cats and dogs, instead I took her thought that the world would end soon very seriously. And you know what till my second standard I never used to study thinking that the world would end soon so there is no use of studying. But then when I landed in the third standard, I being an intelligent kid got to know that granny’s words are not going to be true soon. So, I should study instead of waiting for the world to end. These believe kept me scared for a hell number of years. Well! When I sit and think of it today I just laugh on how stupid I was!

One good habit which both my grandmothers have inculcated in me is related to prayers. One has always asked to wish good morning and good night to god, the other granny has always asked me to remember god at least ones in a day.

17 thoughts on “Because my granny told me

    1. Hey.. Thankyou Sachin.. Your words are truely an encouragement for me to write more and more.. I am glad that you liked this story of me and my granny.. Thanx a ton.. πŸ™‚

      Like

  1. My Granny was worse, she had no prince and princess, tiger and goat. She would tell me about ghosts, spirits …who lived under my bed. I was believing it to such an extent that i started listening the sound of their breath in and out… I was a super naughty, hyper active child who believed in destruction… And she used to frighten me to have a nap atleast.

    Like

    1. hahahahaha… I was a silent kid… And I was so much afraid of ghosts and spirits that if she would have recited stories related to them, I would have always clung with my dad even to his office. Well! its so good to remember those stories of granny.. πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Naiyya you have come up with such nice stories from your life that I love to visit your blog everyday expecting that I will get some good story to read about you. Fantabulous gurl. I am so proud of you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

