The seed of corruption

indexToday I was sitting with one of my family friends. They have a minor son who I guess is around 15 years. Since he is younger to me the only common topic good or bad, left to talk was that of studies. So I asked him what he wanted to become he said that he would, take up non-medical, do his engineering and then he would go for IAS. So, I was like a cool dude, but then I asked him why IAS? He said because it gives status, secure job and easy money (he made the symbol for under the table money with his hands: corruption). I was dumbstruck; the next generation after me is such. I was shocked and I am still shocked
Well! My professor once told me that corruption begins on our dining tables. Sounds weird right, but that’s true because when our elders talk about what the other person owns may be an audi, a bmw or a big bungalow they don’t talk about that he earned all that honestly or through bad deeds. The only concern of our elders is that he has money, he is rich, but not how he earned it? Obviously children listen to all this and end up assuming that making money through corruption or through whatever other bad deeds is okay, because in the end what matters is delivering money.images
So, to all the elderly people we should teach our young ones to earn money and be rich, but through truthful means (honesty is what matters). If this seed is sown in the minds of our next generation the dream of having corruption free India is just a dream.

6 thoughts on “The seed of corruption

  1. Agreed. Corruption has somehow become a must have part of our DNA. Like you said, parents are sowing the seeds to their kids’ minds, though unintentionally. I have recorded a video a couple of years back, that supports what you wrote in this post. Just check out and see how a mother forces her boy to go corrupt: Writing Corruption in DNA

    Like

Leave a Reply

