Why you should travel alone?

IMAG2719I am a super pampered kid in my place. I was bored of all the pampering and I thought of packing my bags and heading towards a city where I knew no one when I say no one, I truly mean it. I had to do an internship with a human rights organization, I had options to do it in my city but I acted hard on myself. So, I chose Jaipur which is in India and is miles away from my city. The city is known for its hot weather in the month of June and July. Anyone who got to know about this decision of mine awarded me the title of being mad because I was calling for problems, most of the people I met told me that people die there because of the hot weather. But, in my head, I took the challenge of surviving and you know what I survived the challenge in the best of the ways one could ever do.

My exams for second semester got over and I had three days to prepare for my one month travel. I used these three days in the best of the ways to make sure that I have everything which a traveler needs. The feel of a traveler was already in me.

I got on my train from Ambala at 1โ€™o clock in the midnight and it was super exciting. The sky was dark, the moon was blunt, the platform was at still yet chaotic. But, somewhere in that excitement, I was tensed, sad, sentimental and worried since I was leaving my parents all alone after a long time. I cannot forget the hug, which I, mamma and dad had at that point of time, it said a lot.

Traveling all alone at night in the train was a bit of scary but it all went well, I enjoyed the view and my own company. I made sure that I and my luggage was safe, ones I was sure, I slept and got up in the morning. I was forced to get up by a kid who was crying for he wanted to play with the chain of the train, some kids are really exciting.

Eventually, I arrived at my destination- Jaipur. All the coolies wanted to get hold of my luggage but I refused to hire anyone of them and decided to pick it up all by myself. Their was no one to pick me up, obviously I was away from my own city and my own people. I had to hire a taxi that too at a reasonable price and I managed to do so. At around thirty minutes, I reached my hostel which I had managed to arrange around one month ago. I met the warden of the hostel. she was goofy, lame, stupid and irritating, all at the same time. When I met her all the high of being a solo traveler was over. Yes, my head banged and at this point of time, I cursed myself for taking such a bad decision. But, I told myself that I have no other way except fighting and making things work. Things changed for better and I found the best roommates in the hostel and also best colleagues at my internship.

IMAG2672

And, 40 days down the lane after all the struggle which included traveling alone, holding out all alone and making certain that I am capable to pull things up considerably. This is what I think- When you travel solo, you get to do a great deal of things which back home is supervised by your parents or somebody else. I have developed as a person in this one month, my confidence has led up since I have done things which I believed I couldn’t manage. I think we all should travel alone at least twice or thrice a year and we should give an opportunity to the person inside us to grow.

And, to all the young girls and guys,โ€œPick up your bag packs, put your head up and travel, that is the best thing one can ever do.โ€

IMAG3078

6 Comments Add yours

  1. It is to each one his / her own style.. and trust me you are never alone in India ๐Ÿ™‚ You may be lonely / among strangers / not with your friends family but never alone ๐Ÿ˜›

    Like

    1. Naiyyas says:

      I agree because I made a lot of new friends and even now I am in contact with them ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  2. vishalgrover1 says:

    Very nice.. bravo.. all the best to your travel plans. Indeed when you travel alone, you learn a lot.. you grow as a person. I remember my first ever solo trip last year to New York City. An unforgettable journey which taught me a lot. You have a great blog. Wish you good luck. Will await your next travel post…. solo travel post indeed ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    1. Naiyyas says:

      Hey Vishal, it was nice to hear that you found my blog to be nice. I am soon going to travel to various new places and will surely share my experience ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  3. Neena says:

    I am so proud of you my girl ๐Ÿ˜˜

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Naiyyas says:

      Love you momโค๐Ÿ˜˜

      Like

Leave a Reply

