Feminism is not about hating men- If you are a feminist, don’t be sorry, be proud

dsc_0038
Ahaan! I love wearing my brother’s hoodie.

The day I blogged about women’s rights, I was somewhat sure that I will be tagged as a feminist for sure. 99% of the people define feminist as a person or more appropriately a woman who hates men, the one who wants that all the men on the face of this earth should be murdered and is of the opinion that for every problem which exists in the life of a woman, men are the reason. The meaning of feminism is sorted with this definition for almost everyone. That is the reason, if you tag someone as feminist, they elude the tag there and then because they don’t hate men and they never ever cared to understand the meaning of the word “Feminism”.

Well, our very own Google defines it as, “the advocacy of women’s rights on the ground of the equality of the sexes.” And the urban dictionary gives it a bit more explanatory definition, that is, “The belief that women are and should be treated as potential intellectual equals and social equals to men. These people can be either male or female human beings, although the ideology is commonly (and perhaps falsely) associated mainly with women.

The basic idea of Feminism revolves around the principle that just because human bodies are designed to perform certain procreative functions, biological elements need not dictate intellectual and social functions, capabilities, and rights.”

Do the definitions say that it is a woman who hates men? And,  do I really hate men? I don’t know about other women who believe in feminism, but I seriously don’t hate men, I heavily depend on them instead, I started my blog because of my brother, I am going to be a lawyer because of my father, I am able to live the hard days of my life because of my friends Sahil and Anmolpreet. Because of Tanuj bhaiya, I am able to solve hard cases and study law minutely. I am made to believe that I will be a lawyer by all these men. All in all, I am boosted up and kept pepped up by the men in my life. The only two women who play serious roles in my life are my mom and my best friend Niharika. So, basically I cannot even be L of a lawyer, B of a Blogger and T of the traveler without all the men I have discussed above, they are the lifelines like they keep everything in my life going.

What I want to say is Feminism is not about hating men, it is about equality amongst all the human beings and animals who exist on this earth, basically all the living beings. It’s not only a man and a woman. It is also about the transgender, the animals, insects, and plants. We all exist together and we all have equal rights, so what if animals can’t speak, so what if the transgender have a different body structure, nature has made them the way they are and we can’t tag ourselves being a man and a woman to be perfect, just because we are in abundance and they are not, we cannot just slam them with our ways of living.

Feminism is such a hyped word that I often hear women saying that they are not feminist and I myself used to be one. I remember while I was interning in Jaipur, there was a girl from Pune who used to stand up every time a woman was being insulted and we used to be like-Damn! She hates men because that is what even I understood from the word feminism at that age.

My dear reader’s feminism is not about hating men, it’s about equality. So, if next time you find a woman who hates men, you can call her misandrist (that’s your word, my people).

Know a reader that would love this post? Don’t be shy to share! Don’t forget to comment below to let me know your opinions, share stories, and let me know what you want to see on The Era of my Dreams next!

If you want to see more photos and updates, check out my Facebook, Instagram and Twitter. Interested in working with me as a content creator or to be on The Era of my Dreams?

Email me at naiyyas@gmail.com!

Also, I am all new on Snapchat @naiyyas:)

Leave a Reply

